You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream. C. S. Lewis

Cubs (7-12)


Cub Scouts are boys and girls between the ages of seven and twelve and a half. The objective of the Cub Scouts program is to provide a group environment which is intellectually stimulating, physically vital and directed towards satisfying the child’s basic need to face and overcome challenges. Self-developmental activities are a well-entrenched components of the overall drive towards encouraging “Fun & Discovery” amongst the Cubs.

The activities are based on the natural sense of fun and enthusiasm of the age group and thus the training is achieved largely through games, interaction in small groups and activities.

Types of Activities

Cub Scouts activities should be short and wrapped up in the spirit of make-believe. Games of every sort should be played to ensure a balanced training approach. Leaders use general Pack games, inter-Six games, sense-training games, relays and games that help in the practice of Boomerang tests. Stories, in particular Kipling’s Jungle Book as mentioned above and other similar stories that involve adventure, romance, humour, history, religious stories etc., are used and help each Cub Scout to more easily understand the meaning of their Promise and Law through analogy, stories and plays. Play acting such as charades also allows the children to use their imagination freely. Handcrafts are another important activity for a Cub Scout that aims to help children use their fingers and their heads to satisfy their creative instinct and to encourage hobbies in their spare time and at home.

Programme Style

The major feature of the Cub Scouts program is the catering for the tastes and enthusiasm of the small child through a program that is based on their natural developments tied together with a code of morals.

Progress Awards

Starting from this early development stages, Cub Scouts will aim to earn a series of Badges, which give them a knowledge of basic Scouting skills and mark achievements in areas such as campcraft, air and water activities, citizenship and improving the environment.

The Cub Scouts Section Training Scheme is divided into 3 progress badges and a highest award:

  • Bronze Arrow
  • Silver Arrow
  • Gold Arrow
  • Akela Award

Each progress badge comprises tests for Citizenship, Leadership and Responsibility, Physical Skills, Self Reliance, Adventure and Fun.

The highest award in this section is the Akela Award, where a Cub Scout must hold the Gold Arrow and pass specific proficiency badges, show general knowledge of scouting and successfully complete an interview with the District Commissioner.